Sunday Revue: a different celebration

Every Sunday I revue – the fun kind of review – the past week. I base this on the old style Friday Chicken from Havi’s blog at The Fluent Self.

She who reconciles the ill-matched threads

of her life, and weaves them gratefully

into a single cloth—

it’s she who drives the loudmouths from the hall

and clears it for a different celebration

 

where the one guest is you.

In the softness of evening

it’s you she receives.

 

You are the partner of her loneliness,

the unspeaking center of her monologues.

With each disclosure you encompass more

and she stretches beyond what limits her,

to hold you.

The Book of Hours, I, 17 by Ranier Maria Rilke, translated by Joanna Macy and Anita Barrow

I don’t usually like to read or listen to poetry, but when Jen Louden read this poem for Friday’s Oasis, I was really moved. It spoke to me on levels I’m still figuring out. I post it here to spark feelings in you.

What worked this week

  • listening to the Oasis
  • Doing The Work without thinking about the “long view” and “wasting time” doing “the wrong thing”

Next time I might

  • have rest/Laying Fallow time when Mercury is in retrograde – I’m not really into astrology, but the past two Mercury retrogrades have been times of major upset and angst for me, and I’d rather avoid a third time

The Hard

  • chilly weather
  • worried about my tiny strawberry seedlings
  • bored at work
  • angst angst angst
  • yeah, my savior complex has been fueling my angst and I’m disappointed that it’s still screwing things up for me when I thought I’d left it behind a long time ago

The Good

  • some good has come from the angst and overthinking
  • Doing The Work is fun!
  • time to myself on Friday
  • little leaves growing on my seedlings
  • shopping with my mom was fun
  • getting excellent intel that explained everything
  • a long frankincense-and-myrrh-scented bath
