Sunday Revue: unexpected connection

Every Sunday I revue – the fun kind of review – the past week. I base this on the old style Friday Chicken from Havi’s blog at The Fluent Self.

This week has been extremely difficult. I wasn’t surprised by the outcome of the election but I’m still very disappointed and deeply sad. I feel like someone in an alien invasion movie watching all the landmarks getting destroyed – feeling not only fear for my own safety, but knowing the global reach of these events.

But something surprising happened to me. I’m not someone who connects easily with others and I’m usually scared of everyone, but this week I felt a sense of solidarity with the millions of people around the world who did not want this outcome. I’ve never felt anything like this before. The lesson of this election for me is connection – lack of connection caused this outcome, and connection will be essential to surviving the coming years.

And I want to thank everyone who sent out messages of comfort, love, and solidarity this week – they helped so much, especially Anita Sarkeesian’s “Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow: The Fight Continues” and Havi’s “in dark bleak days/moving towards light”. Thank you thank you.

What worked this week

  • slowing down
  • journaling
  • Neat Bee
  • 10 minutes
  • the Oasis
  • asking my Body questions and listening
  • crying

Next time I might

  • enforce boundaries
  • be attentive
  • slow down even more
  • practice compassion
  • prioritize sleep as Number One Most Important Thing

The Hard

  • the election results
  • people around me are crying a lot, buying weapons, stockpiling supplies
  • I feel scared
  • the saddest thing I heard: Stephen Colbert said that his mother was born two days before the first election in which women could vote, and before she died in 2013, she said she might like to vote for Hillary Clinton. She was 92 years old.

The Good

  • feeling connected like never before
  • messages of love
  • hope that this can be a catalyst for further connection, solidarity, and effective action

 

