My zivaMIND experience

meditating_crop

In a nutshell

The 8-day zivaMIND online course provides a good structure and foundation for people who want to start meditating on their own. The program conveys life-changing ideas in a direct, easy-to-understand way.

I rate zivaMIND 5 out of 5 Amazeballs!

A little background

Emily Fletcher, the founder of Ziva, is an actress who credits meditation with helping her stay healthy and flexible during her successful career on Broadway. After training in India, she created Ziva to share the benefits of meditation with the world. The style of meditation she teaches is not the kind monks practice – the style you will learn with her is for lay-people with busy lives.

The course

The 8-day course is a series of videos and live calls. Wake up at least a half-hour before usual so you can watch the videos and meditate each day.

Through the videos, Emily gives you basic information about what stress is, what it does to the body, how meditation helps, instructions for meditating, and general paradigm-shifting ideas. My favorite of these is:

Your happiness lives inside of you, right now – not on the other side of the perfect job or perfect relationship.

She starts you meditating for five minutes twice a day and increases this to 15 minutes twice a day over the 8 days, so it doesn’t overwhelm you at first.

The videos themselves are professionally-done, brief, and to the point. Emily knows you have a busy schedule and she doesn’t waste your time. The only thing that bugged me about the videos was artistic – Emily has gorgeous red hair, but it blends in too much with the background!

zivavideo_hair

Show off that flaming mane!

After the course

I’ve been meditating 15 minutes in the morning before breakfast and right after work. I’ve also been listening to the zivaSLEEPS recording every night, and at work, I’ll take a break by doing an exercise Emily calls “Come to Your Senses”.

I feel much more positive about my life and detached from some things that were causing me emotional angst. I look forward to getting up in the morning to meditate, and I am not a morning person. I’ve gotten up earlier on the weekends, too.

I’m doing less but accomplishing more – I’m more in tune with what I actually want to do, and then I’m doing it!

I’ve experienced bouts fatigue and irritability, which is normal as the body de-stresses. Overall I feel like I have more energy, though, and I’ve been sleeping better.

The price

There are two ways to pay: $250 all at once or $68 in four installments, for a total of $272. You save $22 if you pay all at once. It was an investment, but I’m glad I made it.

Image credit: a quick sketch I did just for this post.

2 thoughts on “My zivaMIND experience

  1. My art: Meditating | Sketch by Sketch

  2. Sunday Revue: Feral Cat Day – Ridley the Fool

Comments are closed.